## Item 6.0 ESCOP Science and Technology Committee Agenda Brief Presenters: John Russin and Jeff Jacobsen For information only

The committee has begun to hold regular conference calls on the fourth Monday of each month. These are scheduled from February through June. Tentatively, we are planning a face-to-face during the July Joint COPS meeting. The current S&T Committee membership is shown below.

Chair: John Russin (SAAESD) Delegates: Larry Curtis (WAAESD) David Thompson (WAAESD) Joe Colletti (NCRA) Deb Hamernik (NCRA) Cameron Faustman (NERA) Adel Shirmohammadi (NERA) Nathan McKinney (SAAESD) Harald Scherm (SAAESD) Teferi Tsegaye (ARD) Marakis Alvarez (ARD)*	Liaisons: Terry Nelsen (ERS) Cliff Gabriel (OSTP) Adrianna Hewings (ARS) Frank Zalom (Pest Mgmt Subcom) Edwin Price (ICOP) Scott Loveridge (Social Sci Subcom) Bob Holland (NIFA) Muquarrab Qureshi (NIFA)
Executive Vice-Chair Jeff Jacobsen (NCRA)	*Chair elect

The S&T Committee initial discussion (2/23/15) was focused on the NRC Report on Spurring Innovation in Food and Agriculture: A Review of the USDA AFRI Program and the subsequent webinar with the Committee and the NIFA Response.

## HORIZON TOPICS for S&T Committee:

+Future of down-sized signature research programs (e.g. plant breeding)

+Water security

+Participation in NIFA and other stakeholder listening sessions

- +Broader engagement with other groups (e.g. Task Force on anti-microbial resistance)
- +Open Access Data

+NEW REPORT (12/2014): Pursuing a Unifying Message – Elevating Food, Agricultural and Natural Resources Research as a National Priority (<u>www.rileymemorial.org</u>)

+NEW NRC REPORT (1/2015): Critical Role of Animal Science Research in Food Security and Sustainability (<u>www.nap.edu</u>)